TheSTYLECCENTRIC


Beautifully damaged…
September 16, 2009, 11:29 am
Filed under: High Fashion | Tags: , , , , ,

Movies seem to influence the way I view life. In many cases, some of my favorite movies are ones where the main character is incredibly beautiful, but seemingly damaged. Like the sisters in the Virgin Suicides or Nikki in Alfie, people’s faults are beautiful.  One of my favorite design duo’s (as you should already know if you read my blog) Rodarte’s Spring 2010 collection was inspired by the same message. They had the idea that some could be both “scarred and beautiful.” While they used many of the same draping/wrapping techniques, the new prints are far for tribal than ones they’ve used in the past.  I have to say as a Rodarte fan, I’m not so sure I love the collection. The pieces at the beginning are a little to intense for me. The open skin in the first few pieces is supposed to represent a woman pulling herself back together while exposing her wound. A little heavy for me, but nonetheless beautiful. If anything their collection is more interpretive than wearable. 

00030m00130m00310m00340mSource: style.com

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

