TheSTYLECCENTRIC


If you’re going to San Francisco…

HAIGHT ASHBURY

 

As the song goes “if you’re going to San Francisco be sure to wear a flower in your hair,” along with that flower you should take with you some shopping sense.  That’s what I’m here for!  While I’m not exactly a born and raised San Franciscan, I have managed to visit the place several times.  My best friend takes up residence in SF and I’ve been visiting her there ever since I was sixteen.  And how do you think we spend our time in San Francisco? Well apart from eating at the amazing restaurants (ahem..Rotee (indian food is to die for!), we shop!  So if anything I know something about shopping in SF.   I’ll give you some ideas about places you just must visit to find the best vintage/thrift items.  I just spent this past weekend in the city.  I hadn’t been in over a year and I forgot how great the thrift shopping is. My friend lives just a few blocks away from Haight St. The famous district Haight/Ashbury is known for it’s 1960s hippie/beat generation influence. The American hippies took residence in the Haight during the Summer of Love (1967) and the district has become synonymous with 1960s ever since.  Haight street is lined with some of the best shopping in San Francisco. The first store I highly recommend you visit is Wasteland.  sf_wastelandAt Wasteland, you can find everything from designer vintage pieces like old Marc Jacobs/Celine blouses to trendy black/white basics from unknown designers.  The best part about Wasteland is that it is relatively inexpensive.  During my last visit, I bought a beautiful black linen sleeveless blouse for $26!  If you can’t make it to San Francisco, Wasteland has two other locations one on Melrose in LA and one opening in Burbank, CA. 

Another store in the Haight you should visit is Crossroads Trading Co.  Crossroads is a lot like Wasteland in it’s thrift mentality.  Crossroads has a great selection of designer jeans.  They have brands from True Religion, J Brand to Levis.  They also buy back your used clothes so they can resell them! Other great thrift stores you should be sure to visit in the district are Buffalo Exchange and Goodwill. I know you probably shuddered when I said Goodwill, but the Goodwill on Haight is different.  I personally think that Goodwill’s can either be really great or really gross. It depends on the day and the amount of time they spend sorting the clothes that come in. At this Goodwill, I managed to find a great gold chain belt for only $8!

904119p1

After all of this thrift shopping, you might get a little tired. Digging through racks and racks of already worn clothing can be tedious, but once you find something you love it’s so worth it! To serve as a little pick me up, you should visit Iris on Haight St.  Iris is a very expensive underwear boutique. I know that some people may find it silly to spend lots of money on underwear, but trust me when you buy a pair of Hanky Panky panties you won’t regret it! The underwear comes in one size fits all with a variety of colors and styles. They are the most comfortable thongs ever! At $16 a pair, they’re not exactly affordable, but with just one pair in your wardrobe, you’ll see what I’m talking about.  If only we could all wear Hanky Panky all the time. 

iris_1_thmbhanky-panky


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment